Check your breasts: October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

imageI have kept my experience close to my heart, however as a breast cancer survivor I wanted to share my story and raise the importance of checking yourself regularly.  I have been shocked at the amount of people who have told me they wouldn’t know how to check their breasts and the presumption that breast cancer is for older women.

When I first visited the GP I was asked what I was worried about.  I mentioned cancer and the GP told me I was too young to have anything serious.  I was asked to go away for three weeks and look at it again but I persisted and asked for a referral.  A week later I was diagnosed with Breast cancer.

There is no right or wrong way to check your breasts, the most important thing to look for are any changes.  I will describe my symptoms however please be aware that symptoms vary from person to person.  Take a look at my video to show you how to check your breasts and to hear my experience click here

For a clear guide on how to check your breasts follow this link to the NHS website

If you or a family member are suffering from cancer please visit your nearest Maggies centre for help and support.

For more information check Breastcancer.org

Please share with your girlfriends!  This is also for my very brave friend Vicky x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

