Matcha Ready

Regular exercise and eating clean has always been important to me.  Not only to feel good in myself but to look after my health.  Its important to fuel your body and to recover properly and protein helps this process.

I avoid protein powder as  I believe in eating healthy and raw where possible and due to my recent illness I eat as organically as possible,  I believe you can obtain enough protein in your diet from natural protein through nuts, fish and eggs.

IMG_9858

I start my morning with eggs and snack on protein balls during the day and after training.  They are easy to make, all you need is the following:

  • nutribullet
  • Organic almonds
  • organic desiccated coconut
  • almond butter
  • coconut oil
  • medjool dates
  • matcha powder

Almonds include healthy fats and are a natural protein, great for your nails and hair.  Health benefits of almonds include lower blood sugar levels, reduced blood pressure and lower cholesterol levels.  They can also help reduce hunger and weight loss.

Medjool dates are an excellence to source of energy and are packed with vitamins and minerals.  They are the healthiest natural sweetener and energy booster you can find.

I add matcha, for benefits of matcha please see my previous blog.

Process 6-7 medjool dates and a teaspoon of coconut oil in the nutribullet.

When mixed to a paste, fill half of the bullet with desiccated coconut, half full of ground almonds, add a spoonful of almond butter and a teaspoon of matcha powder.  Blend in the nutribullet bullet then mould the mixture into snack balls.

They will keep for a few days and can be kept in the fridge.

IMG_9859

Not a matcha fan, then replace the the matcha powder with cacao powder and roll the balls at the end in chopped hazelnuts.  These protein balls will taste like macaroons and cacao powder has the following benefits:

  • 40 times more antioxidants then blueberries
  • Highest plant based source of iron
  • Full of magnesium for a healthy heRt and brain
  • More calcium than cow’s milk
  • A natural mood elevator and anti-depressant

enjoy!

Leave a comment